Why Register So Soon?

Yesterday at the Club meeting somebody mentioned that February 1st is the opening day for registration for both the Pacific Northwest Lace Conference in Portland and the IOLI convention in Coralville, Iowa. I hadn’t realized – it seems so soon! But I’ll get right on it.

Why register so soon? The conference isn’t for at least 4 months! But I like to register as early as I can so I have the best chance of getting the class I want. Sometimes classes fill up quickly–really popular classes might fill up the same day registration opens–and I want my name on that class list!

There’s another reason–and I think it’s the most important one. A couple of months before the conference the organizers review the registrations to decide whether each of the classes they’ve planned will go ahead. If only a couple of people have registered for a class it will be cancelled. Once cancelled, the teacher is released from her commitment, the space is let go – and so once cancelled it won’t be un-cancelled. It doesn’t matter if two weeks later fifty more registrations are received. Gone is gone.

I don’t want to make anybody feel guilty if they want to wait for a while. Sometimes lots of things have to fall into place before you know for sure you can do something, and I have certainly registered at the last minute for a lot of things. But if you know you’re going and you have the money for the registration, give a thought to the poor organizers, and send in your registration as early as you can.

3 thoughts on “Why Register So Soon?

  1. How are people planning to pay? No credit cards or pay pal, USD only. Was hoping for a creative solution rather than wasting $$ on an international money order.

    • Hi Julie: I don’t know about other people, but I have a US$ account at the credit union – I only keep $1 in it, just to keep it open, and from that account I get US$ bank drafts for free. There’s no fee for the account, either, so it works well for me.

      • What an excellent idea, thanks Adele. This isn’t something I’d considered, will open an account when I’m in Vancouver next week.

Leave a Reply

